people celebrating

From October 2007 The Courtauld celebrated its 75th anniversary year with a programme of events and exhibitions.

The Courtauld Institute of Art was the first academic centre of its kind in Britain when it was founded in October 1932, and it remains one of the world’s leading institutions for the study of art history and conservation.

The vision of its three founders – the industrialist and art collector Samuel Courtauld, the statesman and collector Lord Lee of Fareham  and the lawyer Sir Rober Witt – was to train the first generation of professional art historians, and the art world today is populated by Courtauld alumni. Sir Nicholas Serota, Director of Tate, art critic Brian Sewell, Turner prize-winning artist Jeremy Deller, Anne d’Harnoncourt, Director of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, and Neil MacGregor, Director of the British Museum, all began their careers at The Courtauld.

The Institute’s founders were committed to providing students with a world-class collection of art to study first-hand, and it is this same collection, enriched by exceptional bequests over the years, that you can enjoy today at The Courtauld Gallery.

Visit the links on the left for information about The Courtauld’s history, alumni and how you can join the anniversary celebrations.