Courtauld Scholarships

AkzoNobel Scholarship

Main Visual

The Courtauld Institute of Art is delighted to announce that AkzoNobel, the world’s largest paint and coatings company, will fund two postgraduate students undertaking either a PhD or MA in Conservation of Wall Painting from October 2013. This new initiative builds on AkzoNobel’s current commitment to fund Sanjay Dhar and Sreekumar Menon, who are studying part-time for their PhDs. The additional AkzoNobel Scholarships are for students from China and Brazil.

Scholarship conditions

  • 2 Full time MA students in Conservation of Wall Painting Course
  • For 2013 intake
  • For Chinese and Brazilian students only
  • Funding to begin in 2013

  • If one Chinese MA student, but no qualified Brazilian MA student can be found, The Courtauld will instead seek to enrol a qualified Brazilian PhD student in place of the Brazilian MA.
  • Given the nature of the course, the Brazilian PhD student is likely to enrol part time
  • If The Courtauld enrols a Brazilian PhD, it will do so in the 2013/14 academic year.

Course Descriptions

The Conservation of Wall Painting Department runs the following two programmes. Scholarships may be awarded to students taking either option.

PhD in Conservation of Wall Painting

  • 6 years if P/T (3 years if F/T) 

MA in Conservation of Wall Painting

  • 3 years F/T 
  • The Courtauld’s is the only specialist postgraduate qualification in Wall Painting Conservation in the entire English-speaking world. We only take about 8 MA students every 3 years from the entire world. This means that our next intake will be 2013 (next intake after that is 2016). 

The scholarships have specific reporting and participation requirements, which will be provided to the scholarship recipients.

How to Apply

Please complete the scholarship application form in conjunction with your programme application. The current form can be found on the page linked below and is entitled ‘Application Form.’

Main Visual

Thanks to the generosity of many donors The Courtauld has a number of scholarships to support Conservation, MA and PhD students, which may cover fees and/or maintenance.

Scholarships are offered by The Courtauld on the basis of academic merit, with consideration given to financial need, to enable MA, PhD and Conservation students to take up places at The Courtauld.


The scholarship application process has been updated for the 2015/6 academic year.

Scholarship Applications are completed separately to the Online Admissions Application, should be sent via hardcopy in the post, and must be received within a week of submitting the Online Application.

Scholarship Application Form - PDF

Scholarship Application Form - Word (editable)

Scholarship Application Guidance



The Courtauld would like to thank:

Scholarship Endowment Funders

  • Arbuthnot Bequest
  • David Skipsey Memorial Fund
  • Deborah Loeb Brice Foundation
  • Garfield Weston Foundation
  • Joseph & Esther Lichtenstein Scholarship
  • Lord Rothschild OM, GBE, FBA
  • Robert HN Ho Family Foundation
  • Robert Postgraduate Studentship
  • Samuel H. Kress Foundation
  • Saunders Bequest
  • The Charles and Barbara Robertson Studentship Fund
  • The Guilford Foundation
  • The Nicholas and Jane Ferguson Scholarship Fund
  • The Sir Geoffrey Agnew Scholarship
  • The Stanislawa Kryszek Scholarship

College Patron

  • Akzo Nobel
  • Farah & Hassan Alaghband
  • Professor Peter Baldwin & Dr Lisbet Rausing
  • Mr & Mrs Hugues Lepic*
  • The Olga Lopukhova Scholarship
  • The Marie-Louise von Motesiczky Trust
  • Stavros Niarchos Foundation Scholarship
  • The Friends of the Courtauld Institute
  • The Headley Trust
  • Mrs Charles Wrightsman*

 *Contributors to the US Scholarship Fund

Class Patron

  • The Gabrielle Jungels-Winkler Scholarship*
  • Old Boys Foundation

 *Contributors to the US Scholarship Fund

Student Patron

  • Veronica M Bulgari*
  • Bonnie & R. Derek Bandeen
  • Linda Kristin Bennett
  • Alison Lohrfink Blood*
  • Mrs Sandra Cohen
  • Mrs Jessica Devoy
  • Dr Martin Halusa
  • The John House Scholarship Fund
  • Lucía V. Halpern & John Davies
  • Sir Michael & Lady Heller
  • Andrew Hochhauser QC
  • James Hughes-Hallett
  • Iran Heritage Foundation
  • The Marina Kleinwort Trust
  • Lucy Mitchell-Innes & David Nash*
  • Celine & John Lowrey
  • Clare Maurice
  • The Stanley Picker Trust
  • Russell C. & Jill O. Platt
  • The Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation
  • Edward Said Scholarship
  • Thomas Gibson Fine Art Ltd
  • The Ashley Family Foundation
  • George & Patricia White
  • Michael & Jane Wilson

 *Contributors to the US Scholarship Fund

Contributors to The Courtauld Scholarship Fund

  • The Courtauld Annual Fund
  • Thriplow Charitable Trust Scholarship

Thank You

Thank you to each of the 26 donors who made gifts to The Courtauld Annual Fund.

We are also very grateful to all scholarship supporters who wish to remain anonymous.