Study Programmes

Spring & Summer School and Study Trips

Study Programmes at the Courtauld Institute of Art now has over 300 students each year. From our launch in 1996 with two courses running in two weeks each year, we have grown to host four weeks of courses and a varied series of Study Trips abroad. Courses were held in 2004 during the Easter and summer holidays, providing students with the opportunity to enjoy the challenges and pleasures of studying at the Institute. From learning about antiquity to postmodernism, the Schools draw on the expertise of Courtauld teaching staff and of those who trained here and now teach at other institutions. Students this year, as before, came from a multitude of backgrounds — barristers, doctors, arts administrators, lecturers, school teachers, school leavers — and many more came simply with a thirst for history of art.

The dates for next year’s schools are April 11-15 (Spring School) and July 11-29 (Summer School).

Study Trips in 2004 included visits to Venice, Rome, Siena, Assisi, Florence, Berlin, Istanbul and Bruges. We are looking forward to running these courses again with additional trips to the Umbrian hill towns, medieval Cairo and Ottoman Istanbul.
Future Trips in 2005 include:

Athens Greece after the Olympics
£300 Professor Robin Cormack
Friday 25 February — Sunday 27 February

Venice Renaissance Venice
£300 Polly Buston
Friday 11 March — Sunday 13 March

Assisi City of Saint Francis
Dr Janet Robson
Friday 8 April — Sunday 10 April

Rome Renaissance Rome
£400 Dr Michael Douglas-Scott
Saturday 30 April — Monday 2 May

Istanbul Byzantine Istanbul
£400 Dr Cecily Hennessy
Friday 27 May — Monday 30 May

Rome Early Medieval Rome
£300 Dr Cecily Hennessy
Friday 16 September — Sunday 18 September

Further information about all these programmes is available on the Courtauld website at www.courtauld.ac.uk, or contact study.programmes@courtauld.ac.uk or 020 7848 2678 to receive a prospectus.