Celebrating Scholars and Donors
February saw the annual celebration to mark The Courtauld’s recognition of scholarship donors. This year an extraordinary £500,000 was given to 50 scholars making 2007/8 a record year for scholarship gifts. Scholars include a mixture of MA and PhD students. Guests included scholarship donors, scholars, their parents and tutors.

Joanna Milk (Peter Jay Sharp Scholar) and Zachery Stewart (Christian H Thum/Fulbright Scholar) made particularly powerful speeches on the importance of the scholarships to them and their future in art history. Lucia Halpern, Chairman of the Friends, spoke of how honoured she and the Friends trustees were to be able to make gifts of scholarships. She looked forward to following the progress of the Friends’ scholars.

The Courtauld would like to take this opportunity to thank all scholarship donors for their generosity. Scholarships play a critical role in enabling postgraduate students to pursue their studies at the highest level, without the worry of incurring further debt. You can donate to The Scholarship Fund with an amount of your choice or name a scholarship for an academic year from £3,500.

Left, Lucia Halpern with Friends’ Scholar Sage Mehta

Scholars and donors celebrate on February 28, 2008

For more information on The Scholarship Fund visit www.courtauld.ac.uk/supportingus/scholarships or contact Jemma Tabraham, Head of Individual Giving Programmes: jemma.tabraham@courtauld.ac.uk +44 (0)20 7848 2194