The Courtauld Institute is deeply grateful to supporters of our exhibitions, the Learning Centre and Hermitage Rooms in Somerset House.


Gabriele Münter
Apax Partners
Mrs Elke von Brentano
Mrs Karin Emery and family
Mr and Mrs Nicholas Ferguson
Mallinckrodt Foundation
Dr Wilhelm Winterstein, Munich
Anonymous donor

The Road to Byzantium
Alpha Bank London
The Blavatnik Family Foundation
The J.F. Costopoulos Foundation
Cycladic Capital LLP
The Sir Joseph Hotung Charitable Settlement
The A.G. Leventis Foundation

Oskar Kokoschka
Austrian Cultural Forum
Global Betbrokers Limited
Marlborough Gallery (tbc)

The Hermitage Rooms
We acknowledge with grateful thanks the on-going support for the Hermitage Rooms of the Edmond J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation, The Deborah Loeb Brice Foundation and the Founding Members of the Walpole Circle:

Mr Len Blavatnik, Access Industries (UK)
Mrs Abigail Bowers
William Browder
Hermitage Capital Management
The Marquess of Cholmondeley
His Grace the Duke of Devonshire
Dame Vivien Duffield DBE
Nicholas and Jane Ferguson
Rocco Forte Hotels
Georges C Karlweis
Professor and Mrs Nasser D Khalili
Ms N Parker
Simon Robertson
Mr & Mrs S N Roditi
Lord Rothschild OM GBE FBA
William and Olga Shawcross
Peter Simon
Mr John Studzinski
Mrs Charles Wrightsman
and others who wish to remain anonymous.

We would like to extend special thanks to Lord Rothschild for his particular contribution to the Hermitage Rooms.

Learning Centre
On 11 July 2002 Sir Elton John generously performed at a gala evening hosted by Lord Rothschild and Mrs Edmond Safra at Somerset House. The creation of the Learning Centre for Somerset House was made possible through the proceeds from that evening and the generosity of many benefactors.
The following have supported Learning Centre programmes:
Ernst & Young, HSBC
IBM United Kingdom Ltd
The Pidem Fund
The Audrey Sacher Charitable Trust
St Mary-Le-Strand Charity
The Worshipful Company of Carpenters


Supporters of the Courtauld Institute of Art

Major Donors
The Courtauld Institute of Art remains deeply grateful to the following major donors whose generosity has enabled the Institute to achieve its vision to become an independent institution dedicated to the advancement of the history and conservation of art and architecture:
The Annenberg Foundation, The Deborah Loeb Brice Foundation, J. Paul Getty Trust, The Lisbet Rausing Charitable Fund,
Edmund J. Safra Philanthropic Foundation and the Garfield Weston Foundation

The Aurelius Trust
The Lord Faringdon Charitable Trust
The American Friends of the Courtauld
The Beinecke Foundation
Mr Ivor Braka
The Deborah Loeb Brice Foundation
The Clothworkers’ Foundation
The John S. Cohen Foundation
John Lyon’s Charity
The Ernest Cook Trust
DCMS/Wolfson Museums and Galleries Improvement Fund
Mrs Wendy de Beer
The John Ellerman Foundation
Nicholas & Jane Ferguson
Fifth Floor Foundation
Mr Francis Finlay
The Foyle Foundation
Getty Grant Program
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher
Sir Nicholas & Lady Goodison
The Headley Trust
Gerry Hedley Memorial Fund
The Sir Joseph Hotung Charitable Settlement
Mr Ian Jones
The Gabrielle Jungels-Winkler Foundation
Michael Kitson Scholarship Supporters
Samuel H Kress Foundation
Norman A. Kurland & Deborah A. David
The Leathersellers’ Company Charitable Fund
James Marrow & Emily Rose
Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
The Henry Moore Foundation
Mandy & Edna Moross
Jennifer Moses & Ron Beller Family Foundation
Stavros S. Niarchos Foundation
The Philanthropic Collaborative
The Stanley Picker Trust
Emily Pulitzer
The Radcliffe Trust
The Rayne Foundation
The Charles and Barbara Robertson Studentship Fund
The Rosenkranz Foundation
The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation
The David Skipsey Memorial Fund
John Treacy and Darcy F. Beyer
Foundation Inc.
The Villore Fund & the Josephine C Wilkinson Charitable Lead Trust
The Wolfson Foundation
The Worshipful Company of Mercers
The Worshipful Company of Painter-Stainers
Caroline Villers Research Fellowship Supporters
and others who wish to remain


Friends of the Courtauld Institute Corporate Members
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP


Mark Bradshaw
Mr Damon Buffini
Mr Colin Clark
Nicholas and Jane Ferguson
Mr Sam Fogg
Sir Nicholas & Lady Goodison
Lucía V. Halpern and John Davies
Mr and Mrs Schuyler Henderson
Daniel Katz Ltd
Norman A. Kurland and Deborah A. David
Mr Jay Massey
The Worshipful Company of Mercers
Mr Michael Palin
Lord and Lady Phillimore
Johnny van Haeften
Mrs Elke von Brentano
The Rt. Hon. Nicholas & Lavinia Wallop
Mrs Jacqui White


Mrs Kate Agius
Lord Jeffrey Archer
Dr Charles Avery FSA
Jean-Luc Baroni Ltd
Mr & The Hon. Mrs Oliver Colman
Mr Roger J H Emery
Mrs Judy Freshwater
The Rev. Robin Griffith-Jones
Historical Portraits Ltd
Mr Richard Philp
Leslie Powell
Mr Peregrine Sabin
Salamander Fine Arts Limited
Simon C. Dickinson Ltd.
Richard Green (Fine Paintings) Ltd
Yvonne Tan Bunzl


Dr Julius Böhler
The Right Hon. Sir Adam Butler
Mr G F Chronnell
Mr Andrew P Duffy
Flavia Ormond Fine Arts Ltd Mrs Liliane Fredericks
Dr John Gage
Mrs Leseley Lewis FSA
Mr Timothy D Llewellyn
Mr Stuart Lochhead
Mr Christopher Loyd
Barbara Minto
Virginia Morck
Mr Colin Pearson
Mr Godfrey Pilkington
Mr Richard Shoylekov
Miss Rose Silas
Mr Henry Tinsley


American Friends of the Courtauld Institute
The American Friends of the Courtauld Institute wish to acknowledge the generosity of the Somerset House Art History Foundation and the following donors:
The Berger Collection Education Trust
The Deborah Loeb Brice Foundation
Mr Richard Spofford Chafee
Mr Arnold Davis
Hester Diamond
Mr Francis Finlay
The Forbes Foundation
Mr William F. Jeffett II
Mr Ian Kennedy
Mr Norman Kurland
Eli Lilly and Co Foundation
Mr Michael R. T. Mahoney
Robbins Foundation Inc.
James Marrow and Emily Rose
The Rosenkranz Foundation
Angelica Z. Rudenstine and Neil Rudenstine
The Peter Jay Sharp Foundation
John and Sheila Stoller
Mr Alva O Way